Õhtu-Kallas - the House on the Evening Shore - has a rich history. The house was one of two estates built in Haapsalu by Professor Georg Philipp von Doepp between 1909 and 1911. Doepp was an engineer of the St. Petersburg Metal Works (today LMZ) and professor for steam boilers at the Technical Institute.
In the 1920s, Finnish writer Aino Kallas (1878-1956), married to the folklorist, linguist and diplomat Oskar Philipp Kallas, enjoyed spending her summer months in the House on the Evening Shore.
A letter to the Haapsalu city government dated in 1930 states that the House on the Evening Shore belonged to the union of post, telegraph and telephone employees and served as a rest home for ill workers. This service was available to the sick at no charge. At the time it was called "Pansion Nordgren".
During the Soviet era, the house was used as a war commissariat. Some structural alterations testify to military use in this period, for example the removal of the large windows on the ground floor, which opened the rooms to the sea, and garages for war vehicles. After Estonia regained independence in 1991, the property was returned to its pre-war owner.
Base area house
Distance from the sea
Õhtu-Kallas 15, Haapsalu
2 and attic
brick building used as garages